Dirty Little Elbows

I don’t understand kids these days. That is the understatement of the year and writing it makes me feel old, but it’s true. Or maybe I just don’t understand parents and what they choose or don’t choose to teach their kids.

I’m not here to talk about ancient outdated etiquette garbage that belittled kids. I’m not talking about kids with disabilities that hinder the way they interact. What I am talking about is kids that lack the ability to show respect on the most basic of levels. When did it become okay to look down at your feet and barely answer when asked a question? When did “Mom they’re shy” become an acceptable excuse? When did it become okay to leave a sleepover and not find a parent and tell them a quick “Bye and thanks for having me?”

Long ago are the days of Emily Post dictating our every move, but should we really have thrown manners so far out the window? Why is it okay for kids to be such disrespectful little shits? Why isn’t someone within these kids inner circle not preparing them for life?

My kids believe that my background in sales and marketing interfere with my ability to see things normally. That a good handshake and a voice that doesn’t quiver coupled with grateful thinking and the ability to express said gratitude isn’t necessarily a core element to becoming a prosperous adult. They would be wrong.

As a teenage if you can’t bare to deal with such hard questions as “Do you want orange or grape soda?” then please understand when I ask you if you can hear me standing there talking to you, it isn’t my intent to come across as such a bitch. I’m just genuinely worried about the inevitable fact that the world is about to prop its dirty little elbows up on the dinner table and eat you alive.

Leave a comment